RSS

Power Rangers?

05 May

I think that culture around the world progresses and moves along too quickly sometimes… especially social culture. By social culture, I mean the things we have to do in society to be socially accepted by everyone else. I think I’ve probably encountered a couple culture changes throughout my life and I’m not even that old yet. I’m sure a lot of my teachers and parents would agree with me that culture in the world changes way too fast.

One thing about culture that I hate is the constantly changing clothing in the world. I remember in the 90s my parents would dress me up in orange colored shorts and a silly Barney’s t-shirt and everybody in my class would be totally cool with it. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll have the same reaction if I were to wear funky colored pants with a Barney top, because … well for one, I’m too old to be wearing Barney, and now that we’re in the 21st century, no one wears funky colored bottoms anymore.

Also, no one thinks Power Rangers and Gameboys are cool anymore. I miss the 90s.

I’m so tired of culture changing in my life. Band-aids on the other hand, have not changed since its invention. From the 1920s until now, they have always maintained the same basic structure, shape, idea, and color. What if our culture just stayed the same over time?

Maybe we wouldn’t have to worry about not using a floppy disk to save my work on the computer or having an action figure Red Power Ranger in my back pocket…. not that I actually own one…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Culture

 

Leave a Reply

 
